What are chakras?

Story and photo by Ashley Probst

There are seven chakras in each of us. They allow energy to flow through the body starting at the base of the spine and ending at the very top of the head. Each chakra has a particular crystal that corresponds with it, which can be used by those who practice crystal healing to balance an individual’s chakras and essentially balance their life. When the stones are all aligned, they resemble a rainbow because each hue in the color spectrum is represented.

Root Chakra—Connects us to our roots, spirituality, family and ethnic background

  • Color: Dark red or black
  • Location: Base of spine, near the tailbone
  • Crystal often used: Red jasper, which stimulates energy and rectifies unjust situations
  • Related emotional issues: Financial independence, money and food

Sacral Chakra—Represents how we see ourselves; where we start gaining independence and creativity

  • Color: Orange
  • Location: Lower abdomen, an inch or two below the belly button
  • Crystal often used: Carnelian, which restores vitality, aids business success, alleviates apathy and soothes pain
  • Related emotional issues: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure or sexuality

Solar Plexus Chakra—Our ability to be confident and in control of our lives

  • Color: Yellow
  • Location: Upper abdomen, an inch or two above the belly button
  • Crystal often used: Citrine, which brings wealth, success and joy, revitalizes the mind and brings inner calm
  • Related emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence and self-esteem

Heart Chakra—Our ability to love

  • Color: Green or pink
  • Location: Center of chest, just above the heart
  • Crystal often used: Aventurine, which enhances positive attitudes and heals the heart, or rose quartz, which promotes loving vibrations and is a general emotional healer
  • Related emotional issues: Love, joy and inner peace

Throat Chakra—Our ability to communicate

  • Color: Blue
  • Location: Throat
  • Crystal often used: Sodalite, which increases relaxation, clears the mind, develops intuition, brings emotional balance and boosts the immune system
  • Related emotional issues: Communication and the ability to express your own feelings

Third Eye or Brow Chakra—Our ability to focus on and see the big picture

  • Color: Purple
  • Location: In the middle of the forehead, between the eyes
  • Crystal often used: Amethyst, which balances emotions, provides protection, enhances visualization and promotes love and spirituality
  • Related emotional issues: Intuition, imagination, wisdom and decision-making

Crown Chakra—Our ability to be fully connected spiritually, regardless of religion

  • Color: Clear
  • Location: The very top of the head
  • Crystal often used: Clear quartz, which amplifies energy, stimulates inspiration and reduces fear
  • Related emotional issues: Inner and outer beauty, our spiritual connection and bliss

All information from crystal healer Kenna Libertoski, the daily wellness newsletter “Mind Body Green” and “Crystal Energy” by Mary Lambert.

+ posts